The Appeal of Carroll Shelby & the Fastback GT

Fuelfed®

.

After spending some time at the vintage races at Road America this weekend and watching Mustang GT 500s drift around turn three, something tweaked in my European focused paradigm.

Later that evening while in the small private racers bar in Siebkens dining room, there was that autographed picture I always see of Carroll Shelby above the bar. Again, a little voice was calling.

As we cocktailed around the world-class concours just outside Siebkens, I kept gravitating towards the white GT 350. Something about the fastback became very appealing, as if I just discovered the car for the first time…or had I?

Was it the spirit of Carroll gently guiding me or the Joe Oros and L. David Ash design? Or perhaps the fact that my first childhood Matchbox car was a white/blue GT 350?

Maybe I need to drive one…then again…no, I don’t want to dampen my new found curiousity.

.

View original post

Leave a Reply

